Author Topic: Watched Miss Thang drop an egg on top of a pile of bees  (Read 437 times)

CarSchy

• Newbee

• View Profile
Watched Miss Thang drop an egg on top of a pile of bees
« on: July 31, 2020, 11:36:56 AM »
Not sure why she did this but it sure was weird. Now I am new to beekeeping and know next to nothing....

I was inspecting and saw her sandwiched in a pile of bees. Not anywhere near the comb. While watching this I saw her drop an egg.

It did not appear that they were balling her up. Though lots of bees were around and crossing the comb to get near her. It was just odd to me. Any ideas?

vadentwin

• Super Contributor

• View Profile
Re: Watched Miss Thang drop an egg on top of a pile of bees
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2020, 04:31:26 PM »
IMO, There's no telling what a queen will do when she isn't on comb, especially if she is stressed.

CarSchy

• Newbee

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2020, 07:32:59 AM »
Thank you for the reply. You might be right...your reply made me think on what might be stressing them. Heat was the answer I can up with. Added additional ventilation. Appreciate ya!

vadentwin

• Super Contributor

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2020, 10:33:38 AM »
I am in central FL and my boxes would beard like crazy. I added screen bottom boards and they hardly beard at all. I leave them year round because we have mild winters and my bees fly almost 365. If you are not in the south I would recommend changing back to a solid board in the fall. I changed one box from a screen bottom board to the beetle buster and they beard a little but not too bad.

CarSchy

• Newbee

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2020, 09:41:20 AM »